Moving Spirit Award for Forums

2023 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

The Moving Spirit Award has been established to recognize outstanding forum volunteers who have been "moving spirits" in their forum.

The award will be signed by the Chapters and Forums Committee Chair. A letter of congratulations, in a form suitable for sending to each recipient's superior, will accompany the award. The certificate will be presented at  the national INFORMS meetings. Awards will be shipped via UPS to those recipients unable to receive the award at the Annual Meeting.

An account of the award, citation, recipient, and qualifying service shall be published in OR/MS Today.

Nominations Due August 1, 2024

Qualifications may be satisfied by a candidate leading efforts either to form a new forum or revitalize an existing forum, or by long-term involvement with various forum activities, and services to the Institute on forum committees and/or as a forum officer.

Click here to learn more about the application process.

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Banafsheh Behzad, California State University Long Beach
2020 Winner(s)
Dorothee Honhon, University of Texas at Dallas
2019 Winner(s)
2018 Winner(s)
Sarah Nurre, University of Arkansas Shengfan Zhang, University of Arkansas
2016 Awardee(s)
Julie S. Ivy
2015 Awardee(s)
Dionne Aleman, University of Toronto
2014 Awardee(s)
Laura Albert, University of Wisconsin-Madison
2013 Awardee(s)
Burcu B. Keskin, University of Alabama
2012 Awardee(s)
Award Not Given This Year
2011 Awardee(s)
Feryal Erhun , Cambridge Judge Business School, University of Cambridge
2010 Awardee(s)
Illya V. Hicks, Rice University
2009 Awardee(s)
Ana Muriel, University of Massachusetts Gal Raz, University of Virginia
2008 Awardee(s)
Eric Wolman, George Mason University
2007 Awardee(s)
Award Not Given This Year
2006 Awardee(s)
Award Not Given This Year
2005 Awardee(s)
Pinar Keskinocak, Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Industrial/Systems Engineering
2004 Awardee(s)
Erhan Erkut, Ozyegin University